Crazy Week!

This past week has been absolutely crazy, in a very good way.  A couple of weeks ago, the Huffington Post published an article about my 300+ pound weight loss.  In case you don’t know, I used to weigh 487 pounds.  I now weigh about 185 pounds.  I’ve been as low as 175 pounds, but I am actually trying to add muscle.  I became a Certified Personal Fitness Trainer.  My biggest change wasn’t the weight loss, it was that I took accountability for my weight gain.  I realized I am the ONLY person to blame for it.  However, I had some help in losing weight!  It was the knowledge and support of colleagues, friends, and family. Not all of them mind you, but some.  Some haven’t supported me.  They think I’m insane for starting my own business and venturing out independently.  I believe I can help more people by being independent in the long run without corporate guidelines holding me down.  If I succeed or fail, it’s all up to me!  Wow, that sounds quite a bit like that old word “accountability” again! 

After the Huffington Post ran the story, the London Daily Mail ran with it as well. Not too long after, I was contacted by Good Morning America!  Well, my dream of helping as many people as I can seems to be coming true, we will see.  After years of being a Radio Talk Show Host/Personality nicknamed “The Mich” (a shortened version of Michelin Man, which was given to me by a show I worked for in Dallas, TX and already weighed over 400 pounds). I had that nickname for over a decade.  Now, it just doesn’t fit…unless you count my loose skin.  

So, GMA’s Rachel Smith came to Plano, TX (a suburb of Dallas), to interview me about my story.  I don’t know when it will air, but it will be soon.  The great thing is that it makes me feel like this is all real.  I still can’t believe the weight loss, and I lived it!  I don’t know how I did it.  I wouldn’t say I am proud because it was my own irresponsibility that caused the extreme weight gain in the first place.  

I am happy that I changed my life before it was too late.  Who knows how many years I knocked off of my life with the way I treated my body.  I do know that I couldn’t be happier with my life now!  I enjoy every day and I truly want everybody else to feel as great as I do!  We aren’t taught to love ourselves and it’s about time we really practiced that.  I don’t mean being conceited and feeling like you are better than everybody else.  I mean realizing you deserve to feel good and understanding that everybody else deserves the same feeling.  

You will run into roadblocks, most will be people who are family and so-called friends.  Don’t let them determine your fate.  It’s all up to you! BTW, I don’t consider my gastric bypass a failed operation after gaining my weight back.  I failed in not changing my lifestyle!  The surgery was what it was supposed to be, I just wasn’t ready to change.  I am now!

Here are the links to the articles:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/02/18/i-lost-weight-brian-beck_n_2639791.html

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2280664/Man-finally-loses-300lbs-DESPITE-failed-gastric-bypass-surgery.html

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

